A New Season

DCIM100SPORT

Doug at Upper Vadar

While it is always disappointing leaving ski season behind, this year I have really found myself stoked to climb.  The last two climbing seasons have been somewhat compromised by my involvement with the Eastern Mountain Sports Outdoor Demo Tour.  This year, with my schedule clear of demo tour commitments, I am free to concentrate on what is really important: sending.  The demo tour typically began just as I was finding the strength and technique that I left behind in the winter.  After returning from the demo tour, I would work up to where I had left off to in the spring only to find myself returning to form just as the snow began falling.  Despite a concentrated effort to climb more last demo season, it was simply impossible to find any rhythm in my climbing.

Tim on the sharp end at Upper Vadar

Tim on the sharp end at Upper Vadar

With an epic ski season behind me and no true commitments in sight, I feel like I can fully devote myself to climbing this year.  I have already begun eyeballing some projects, and even have a few long-term goals in mind.  With these goals in mind, have I found myself devoting a good deal of energy to climbing.  I have been at the gym pretty frequently and have even managed to already make a few forays to some local crags.  While my strength isn’t returning as quickly as I would have hoped, it is coming back.

DCIM100SPORT

Mickey Spades belaying Doug at Jimmy Cliff

With myself fully psyched on climbing and Doug needing to do some recon at Rumney, we found ourselves heading north to do some sport climbing.  Getting Doug to Rumney is no easy feat, so it is foolish not to join him if he interested in going.  Doug was particularly  interested in scouting some of Rumney’s more moderate lines for a group he was bringing there, and I was happy to oblige as I am far from ready to jump on anything super hard.  Furthermore, we had Mickey Spades in tow and at times he seemed more interested in his cell phone than he was in climbing.  Over the course of the day, we climbed a bunch of pitches but nothing noteworthy and by the end of the day I was even more psyched on climbing than at the start.

Mickey Spades at his finest.

Mickey Spades at his finest.

An easy day at Rumney certainly has gotten me excited for climbing (my hands are sweating as I write this) and I am already in the planning stages of another venture north.

