Snowcial Media

Getting deep at the local stash

Getting deep at the local stash

By the middle of January this year, my Facebook news feed was clogged with people bemoaning the lack of snow on the ground. While most people were not seeking the type of record-breaking snowfall we have seen over the last few weeks, there were a lot of comments remarking that it didn’t feel like winter without some snow on the ground, or at least without one good storm. The lesson, as always, is be careful what you wish for; seemingly out of nowhere we have received so much snow over the last two weeks that nobody can figure out where to put it and I am honestly getting concerned about how many days I can reasonably call out of work due to the weather (read: blow work off to ski).

Mickey Spades making some quality turns

Mickey Spades making some quality turns

We’ve had so many epic days lately that I’ve honestly lost count of how many storm days we have had and total inches of snow we have received. I’ve seen New Hampshire being compared to Japan (perhaps the most famous powder skiing destination on the planet), and clever nicknames like “Niseko Hampshire” and “New Hokkaido” have popped up in various news feeds, timelines, and blogs. Speaking of Japan—as a fair amount of pro skiers return from there after celebrating “Japanuary,” my Facebook and Instagram feeds jam up with photos of some of the best skiers and riders in the world shredding some of the best powder on the planet. This year it has left me less affected than in years past, as local mountains and friends post incredible pictures of getting deep in New England powder. For the first time in my life as a skier, New England isn’t the red-headed stepchild of the North American skiing; rather, New England is the place to be.

Joe enjoying some great some great snow in the trees

Joe enjoying some great snow in the trees

As skier friends and local mountains keep a continuous level of social media stoke going—thanks to deep pow, face shots, and once-in-a-lifetime days—other friends begin to wonder how much longer until Spring and I wonder just how long until they have a Jack-Nicholson-in-the-The-Shining type of mental breakdown. The cries for “just one snow storm” or a “little snow on the ground, so it feels like winter” have been replaced with panic over snow-laden roofs, mailboxes gone missing in snowbanks, are the kids ever going to go back to school (and get out of the house), and real stress about were to put the snow if we get hit with another storm. Some people have been pushed so close to the brink by the snowpocalypse that they have legitimately considered relocating to warmer climates.

Cruising through another local powder stash

Cruising through another local powder stash

This blog is proof that I am not just a social media spectator. I have greatly enjoyed the recent snowpocalypse, falling on the pro-side of snow. I have enjoyed it so much that I’ve been too busy skiing lately to pay much attention to this blog. I have blown up my Instagram with ski photos, however, and my GoPro has alternated solely between being used and being charged. I like finding joy in something so many people dislike, and being able to showcase my love of winter online. Social media provides the perfect medium for sharing my adventures and (I hope) motivating other people get outside and make the best of what they see as a bleak season. Let’s just hope I have enough vacation days left to make the most of the snowpocalypse.

Doug enjoying the snow

Doug enjoying the snow

