Everyday Is Saturday

Summit of Mount Flume

Summit of Mount Flume

For the moment, I am blessed to be free from the responsibility of a nine-to-five job (or any job, for that matter). While the idea of being unemployed was slightly terrifying at first, the reality of being unemployed is not entirely terrible. In fact, it is actually pretty great. (For now, at least; as of this writing, my spirits are bolstered by a decent severance package and getting paid out a fair amount of accrued vacation time.)

Heading across Franconia Ridge

Heading across Franconia Ridge

The truth is, it has been a very long time since I’ve been truly free from work. Spending most of the last ten years managing a store meant that even while on vacation work could easily creep into my life—no matter how far away I was—whether it was something simple like a fight between the staff, or complicated like the time the store I managed was broken into and robbed while I was on a bouldering trip in Tennessee and Alabama. The one thing I learned during those ten years was that truly being free from work is a challenge.

Looking up at Franconia Ridge

Looking up at Franconia Ridge

Even when finally removed from the day-to-day pressures of running a store, I found work difficult to escape. When on vacation from my copy writing job, I struggled to totally unplug from the grind of producing, proofing, and correcting content. As a store manager I was always left to wonder what exactly was happening in my absence, and as a copywriter I always feared the emails piling up in my inbox and the list of projects waiting to be completed growing while I was away. While I certainly had some great vacations in that time, I never was totally stress-free when I was away.

Coming across Franconia Ridge with Cannon in the background

Coming across Franconia Ridge with Cannon in the background

But for the past two weeks, being free from the grind of a profession has allowed me to relax and take further enjoyment in the lifestyle I am lucky to lead. I no longer need to worry about sneaking a run in at lunch or in between conference calls; rather, I run when I feel like running. With my newfound free time, I have found more time to spend in the mountains and have allowed myself to linger a little longer on summits, trying to make the most of this moment in time where I have nothing to rush off to. With nothing pressing (or perceived as pressing) going on in other areas of my life, I can take extra time at the end of the day to soak my feet in a river, have a cold drink, and be grateful for this time I get to spend worry free.

Finding blue sky

Finding blue sky

Without the stress and time suck of work, I have been easily able to adopt the motto “there’s always tomorrow” or, the one I prefer, “everyday is Saturday.” Although I am anxious to get back to work, I am certainly working hard to make the most of the work-free window I have. Ironically, I think I’m starting to stress about if I am taking enough advantage of it.

