September Wrap Up

“I am getting so far out one day I won’t come back at all.” – William S. Burroughs

dsc02026

When I first decided to begin working for myself, I had grand visions of spending lazy afternoons at the swimming hole, weekdays sport climbing at Rumney, and long leisurely morning bike rides. Although things started off slow, I never quite managed to achieve the unlimited freedom of my dreams. Early on, the time that I didn’t spend working was devoted to trying to find more business. Lately, I find myself in the unique (to me) position of being too busy. In fact, I’ve even recently turned away work! While I am enjoying being busy writing, I admit that it has negatively affected how much time I am getting outdoors. On a positive note, September was another fruitful and productive month of writing. If you missed any of my posts, here they all are. Enjoy!

I love my Outdoor Research Whirlwind Hoody almost as much as I love the story of how I came to acquire it. Read the article and find out about both.

Every Thursday, I eagerly await the ding of email to alert me to the arrival of the new Semi-Rad blog post. Because of this, I was excited that goEast let me write a book review about the author of Semi-Rad’s new book. Even better, they let me have some fun and do it in Semi-Rad style. Check it out here.

One of the things that I found most shocking when I entered the outdoor industry over a decade ago was the cost of socks. People paid $20 for just one pair! At that point, I probably hadn’t spent that much on socks in my life. If you’re going to invest in good socks—and you should!—check out Ellsworth Outdoors product. They’re comfortable, durable, and they perform great…and the company is run by a fantastic group of people. Learn more about my experience with their awesome product here.

Although my experience climbing in Connecticut is limited, it was awesome to work with EMS Climbing School guide Mike Lackman on this goEast piece about the great climbing in the Constitution State.

I have always loved the climbing at Rumney; however, I have never loved the crowds that Rumney attracts. As I get older, I am working hard on being more tolerant, and as I get to spend less time outside, I am working on making the most of every moment spent there. Read about it here.

When goEast said they were looking to write an article about New England’s best hikes, I offered to write about the great, scenic, or hard hiking of the White Mountains. In the end, I ended up writing about Massachusetts’ Mount Wachusett. Find out why I love that little mountain here.

It’s sad that it took the deaths of two of the climbing community’s greats to make me recognize what a unique, special, and at times giving community climbers belong to. Click here to find out how the climbing community rallied when they were needed.

On a good/bad note, October is shaping up to be my busiest month yet. Hopefully, I will be able to carve out some time to play outside or at least start clearing my schedule for ski season!

